Les antennes d'une abeille lui permettent de détecter une variété de signaux, notamment des produits chimiques, de la lumière, des vibrations et des champs électriques. 

Les antennes des abeilles ont le même objectif qu'un nez chez l'homme; ils sont remplis de récepteurs pour les odorants chimiques dans l'environnement et aident l'abeille à sentir le monde.

Les antennes des abeilles mâles sont souvent beaucoup plus longues que celles de leurs homologues femelles. Les antennes mâles ont un segment supplémentaire et les segments eux-mêmes ont plus de longueur. En effet, les antennes mâles sont spécialisées pour capter l'odeur subtile des phéromones femelles. Il a été démontré que certaines ouvrières des abeilles sentent leur reine jusqu'à 60 mètres de distance.

Les récepteurs sur les antennes sont divisés en 4 catégories : plaques, piquets, poils et fossettes. Les plaques sont des récepteurs pour les produits chimiques et la lumière, les chevilles et les fosses sont pour l'odorat et les poils pour le toucher. La disposition des capteurs est très spécifique, avec une touffe de poils pour sentir la texture à l'extrémité des antennes et la majorité des récepteurs liés à l'odorat (appelés plaques de pores) trouvés sur les huit derniers sous-segments. Une abeille mâle peut avoir jusqu'à 100 fois plus de capteurs sur ses antennes qu'une femelle.

Un autre récepteur, l'organe de Johnston, se trouve à l'intérieur des antennes près de la tête. Il détecte les mouvements et les vibrations autour des antennes et a une variété d'applications permettant à l'abeille de juger de sa vitesse, ainsi que de détecter les champs électriques. Les bourdons, par exemple, peuvent utiliser les mécanorécepteurs de leurs antennes pour détecter des intensités de champ électrique aussi faibles que 15.3 Vm-1.

Ces informations sont également disponibles auprès du Collection d'invertébrés de l'Université de Calgary, où il a été organisé dans le cadre d'une étude sur le design inspiré par les abeilles. 

Image: Rob Alexander / CC BY NC - Attribution Creative Commons + Non commercial

Abeille Melissodes rivalis mâle avec des antennes beaucoup plus longues que la femelle. 

Image: Rob Alexander / CC BY NC - Attribution Creative Commons + Non commercial

Une abeille Melissodes rivalis femelle. 

Image: Soraya Villalobos / CC BY NC - Attribution Creative Commons + Non commercial

Une femelle Melissodes confusus. 

Image: Rob Alexander / CC BY NC - Attribution Creative Commons + Non commercial

Un Melissodes confusus mâle, avec des antennes beaucoup plus longues que la femelle. 

Dernière mise à jour 3 avril 2019

The antennae of a bee allows it to sense a variety of signals including chemicals, light, vibrations, and electric fields.

Edit Hook

The antennae of  bees serve the same purpose as a nose in humans; they’re filled with receptors for chemical odorants in the environment and help the bee smell the world.

The antennae of male bees are often much longer than their female counterparts. Male antennae have an extra segment and the segments themselves have more length. This is because male antennae are specialized to pick up the subtle scent of female pheromones. Some honeybee workers have been shown to smell their Queen from up to 60 meters away.

The receptors on the antennae are divided into 4 categories: plates, pegs, hairs and pits. Plates are receptors for chemicals and light, pegs and pits are for smelling and hairs for touch.  The arrangement of the sensors is very specific, with a tuft of hairs for feeling texture at the tip of the antennae and the majority of the receptors related to smell (known as pore plates) found on the last eight sub-segments. A male bee can have up to 100x the number of sensors on his antennae that a female can.

Another receptor, the Johnston’s organ, is found inside the antennae near the head. It detects movement and vibration around the antennae and has a variety of applications from allowing the bee to judge its speed, as well to detect electric fields. Bumblebees, for instance, can use the mechanoreceptors on their antennae to sense electric field strengths as small as 15.3 Vm-1.

This information is also available from the University of Calgary Invertebrate collection, where it was curated as part of a study on design inspired by bees. 

Edit Summary

References

Book
The Bees of the World, Second Edition.Hopkins Fulfillment ServiceMichener CD.

No link available.

“When a virgin queen enters the congregation area, drones (from a few hundred to thousands) begin pursuit, first attracted to chemical cues but also using vision at closer range… Compared with worker bees, drones have larger antennae and about seven times as many placoid sensilla (≈18,000 compared with ≈2,700).” Wanner, 2007:14383

Journal article
A honey bee odorant receptor for the queen substance 9-oxo-2-decenoic acidPNASSeptember 4, 2007
Wanner KW, Nichols AS, Walden KKO, Brockmann A, Luetje CW, Robertson HM.

Book
The Beekeeper's Handbook Cornell University PressSammataro D, Morse RA.

Journal article
Sensory allometry, foraging task specialization and resource exploitation in honeybees. Behav Ecol SociobiolRiveros AJ, Gronenberg W.

“Mechanosensory hairs are common across the Phylum Arthropoda (16). These sensors typically have mechanical resonances between 100 and 500 Hz and react to vibrations from the wingbeats of approaching predators (22) and air currents (23, 24). In contrast, bumblebee hairs have a resonant frequency of approximately 3.8 kHz, a result of low mass and high stiffness.” Sutton, 2016:7263

Journal article
Mechanosensory hairs in bumblebees (Bombus terrestris) detect weak electric fields.PNASApril 26, 2016
Sutton GP, Clarke D, Morley EL, Robert D.

Edit References

Learn More about the living system/s

Organism
Western HoneybeeApis melliferaSpecies


Organism
Buff-tailed BumblebeeBombus terrestrisSpecies


Edit Living Systems