Les poils de la fourmi argentée saharienne la gardent au frais en réfléchissant efficacement la lumière et l'énergie thermique tout en dissipant l'excès de chaleur.

Fourmis argentées sahariennes (Cataglyphis bombycine) ont une capacité remarquable à prospérer dans l'une des régions les plus chaudes de la planète, le désert du Sahara. Contrairement à la peau lisse, aux carapaces et aux écailles de la plupart des habitants à haute température, ces fourmis ont un mécanisme de défense extérieur unique pour combattre la chaleur : les cheveux.

Les poils des fourmis argentées sahariennes réduisent l'absorption de chaleur en réfléchissant efficacement la lumière du soleil et en dissipant la chaleur. Cela permet à la fourmi de rester au frais dans le Sahara de midi, où les températures peuvent atteindre jusqu'à 47°C (117°F). Les poils, avec leur forme unique, y parviennent grâce à trois mécanismes distincts :

Premièrement, les poils réduisent l'absorption de chaleur en maximisant la quantité de lumière réfléchie par leur surface, un processus connu sous le nom de réflexion interne totale (TIR). Ceci est réalisé grâce à la forme prismatique unique des poils, qui ont une base plate qui repose contre le corps de la fourmi, tandis que les deux autres côtés sont rainurés (voir les images de la galerie). Lorsque la lumière pénètre par l'un des côtés rainurés, elle se réfléchit sur la base, puis sort de l'autre côté rainuré. Une rainure concentre un rayon lumineux sur une certaine partie du cheveu afin d'optimiser son chemin de sortie et ainsi maximiser le TIR. Plusieurs rainures permettent à plusieurs rayons de lumière d'être réfléchis simultanément dans les mêmes cheveux. Les poils sont densément emballés pour garantir qu'une quantité minimale de lumière solaire atteigne le corps de la fourmi en dessous, le gardant 2 °C plus frais qu'il ne le serait sans les poils.

Deuxièmement, les poils réduisent également l'absorption de chaleur en réfléchissant la lumière du soleil (rayonnement solaire) des parties visibles et non visibles du spectre électromagnétique, y compris le proche infrarouge (NIR). C'est dans ces deux régions que le rayonnement solaire est le plus puissant.

Et troisièmement, la fourmi argentée a une méthode particulièrement efficace pour évacuer l'excès de chaleur. La forme des poils augmente la capacité de la fourmi à émettre de la chaleur - connue sous le nom d'émissivité - dans une plage spécifique du spectre électromagnétique, l'infrarouge moyen (MIR). Dans cette plage, le corps chaud de la fourmi peut le plus efficacement émettre de l'énergie thermique excédentaire pour refroidir l'air environnant via le rayonnement thermique. Nanfang Yu, chercheur sur les fourmis, explique : « Pour apprécier l'effet du rayonnement thermique, pensez à la sensation de froid lorsque vous sortez du lit le matin. La moitié de la perte d'énergie à ce moment-là est due au rayonnement thermique, car la température de votre peau est temporairement beaucoup plus élevée que celle du milieu environnant. Ce mécanisme permet à la fourmi de maximiser la quantité de chaleur qu'elle émet et de se refroidir. Les deux derniers mécanismes refroidissent la fourmi de 5 à 10 °C supplémentaires, permettant à la fourmi argentée de résister à des températures allant jusqu'à 53.6 °C (128.48 °F).

Image: Bjorn Christian Torrissen / CC BY SA - Attribution Creative Commons + Partage dans les mêmes conditions
Image: Nan Shi N, Tsai C, Camino F, Bernard, GD, Yu N, Wehner R / Copyright © - Tous droits réservés

Images de microscopie électronique des poils de la fourmi argentée

Image: Nan Shi N, Tsai C, Camino F, Bernard, GD, Yu N, Wehner R / Copyright © - Tous droits réservés

Microscopie électronique gros plan des poils de la fourmi argentée.

Dernière mise à jour le 25 mars 2019

The hair of the Saharan silver ant keeps it cool by efficiently reflecting light and heat energy while also dissipating excess heat.

Edit Hook

Saharan silver ants (Cataglyphis bombycina) have a remarkable ability to thrive in one of the hottest regions on the planet—the Sahara Desert. Unlike the sleek skin, shells and scales of most high-temperature dwellers, these ants have a unique exterior defense mechanism to beat the heat: hair.

The hair of Saharan silver ants reduces heat absorption by efficiently reflecting sunlight and dissipating heat. This enables the ant to stay cool in the midday Sahara, where temperatures can reach up to 47°C (117°F). The hairs, with their unique shape, achieve this through three distinct mechanisms:

First, the hairs reduce heat absorption by maximizing the amount of light that is reflected off their surface, a process known as total internal reflection (TIR). This is achieved through the unique prism shape of the hairs, which have a flat base that lies against the body of the ant, while the other two sides are grooved (see gallery images). When light enters through one of the grooved sides, it reflects off of the base, and then exits from the other grooved side. A groove concentrates a ray of light onto a certain part of the hair in order to optimize its path of exit and thus maximize TIR. Multiple grooves enable multiple rays of light to be reflected within the same hair simultaneously. The hairs are densely packed to ensure that a minimal amount of sunlight reaches the ant’s body underneath, keeping it 2°C cooler than it would be without the hairs.

Second, the hairs also reduce heat absorption by reflecting sunlight (solar radiation) from both visible and non-visible parts of the electromagnetic spectrum, including the near-infrared (NIR). It is in these two regions that solar radiation is at its most powerful.

And third, the silver ant has a particularly effective method of offloading excess heat. The shape of the hairs increases the ant’s ability to radiate heat—known as emissivity—in a specific range of the electromagnetic spectrum, the mid-infrared (MIR). Within this range, the ant’s warm body can most effectively give off excess heat energy to cooler surrounding air via thermal radiation. Ant researcher Nanfang Yu explains: “To appreciate the effect of thermal radiation, think of the chilly feeling when you get out of bed in the morning. Half of the energy loss at that moment is due to thermal radiation, since your skin temperature is temporarily much higher than that of the surrounding environment.” This mechanism enables the ant to maximize the amount of heat it emits and cool itself off. The last two mechanisms cool the ant off by an additional 5-10°C, enabling the silver ant to withstand temperatures up to 53.6°C (128.48°F).

Edit Summary

References

“The [ant] hairs have a triangular cross-section with two corrugated surfaces allowing a high optical reflection in the visible and near-infrared (NIR) range of the spectrum while maximizing heat emissivity in the mid-infrared (MIR). Those two effects account for remarkable thermoregulatory properties, enabling the ant to maintain a lower thermal steady state and to cope with the high temperature of its natural habitat.”

Journal article
Total internal reflection accounts for the bright color of the Saharan silver antPLoS OneJanuary 1, 2016
Willot Q, Simonis P, Vigneron JP, Aron S

Book
Dryland Climatology.Cambridge University Press.January 1, 2011
Nicholson, SE

“[The hairs] enhance not only the reflectivity of the ant’s body surface in the visible and near-infrared range of the spectrum, where solar radiation culminates, but also the emissivity of the ant in the mid-infrared. The latter effect enables the animals to efficiently dissipate heat back to the surroundings via blackbody radiation under full daylight conditions.”

Journal article
Keeping cool: Enhanced optical reflection and heat dissipation in silver ants.ScienceJanuary 1, 2015
Nan Shi N, Tsai C, Camino F, Bernard, GD, Yu N, Wehner R.

Journal article
Passive radiative cooling below ambient air temperature under direct sunlight.NatureJanuary 1, 2014
Raman AP, Anoma MA, Zhu, L, Rephaeli E, Fan, S

“To appreciate the effect of thermal radiation, think of the chilly feeling when you get out of bed in the morning. Half of the energy loss at that moment is due to thermal radiation, since your skin temperature is temporarily much higher than that of the surrounding environment.”

Web page
Staying cool: Saharan silver antsColumbia EngineeringJanuary 1, 2015
The Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science

Edit References

Living System/s

Organism
Saharan Silver AntCataglyphis bombycinaspecies

Edit Living Systems